Explore
 Lists  Reviews  Images  Update feed
Categories
MoviesTV ShowsMusicBooksGamesDVDs/Blu-RayPeopleArt & DesignPlacesWeb TV & PodcastsToys & CollectiblesComic Book SeriesBeautyAnimals   View more categories »
All reviews - Movies (219) - TV Shows (15) - Games (8)

Jack Ryan: Shadow Recruit review

Posted : 3 years, 2 months ago on 11 June 2014 11:39 (A review of Jack Ryan: Shadow Recruit )

"You Americans like to think of yourselves as direct. Perhaps you are just rude."

"You Russians like to think you're poets but perhaps you're just touchy."


Jack Ryan: Shadow Recruit was actually a pretty decent movie and certainly not the worst action movie to come out this year that for sure goes to I, Frankenstein. I really don't understand all the hate for this film i guess maybe since its a Jack Ryan movie people expected more from it but lets be honest here its not like the previous Jack Ryan film (The Sum of All Fears) was all that great either and this one is for sure better than that one. I for one like Chris Pine and thought he did a solid performance in this but i felt that the lacking script held back his performance also once i seen Keira Knightley i thought she was just going to be annoying but surprisingly she wasn't. Kenneth Branagh is known for acting in his own movies and again he does it in this as the villain but sadly he just wasn't that great and the way that he dies was seriously lame.



The movie follows Jack Ryan(Chris Pine) and after the events of 9/11 he enlist into the US Marine corps and is soon fighting in Afghanistan where he is critically injured when his helicopter is shot down by a RPG missle. During rehab Jack grows a relationship with a medical student Cathy Muller(Keira Knightley) and also catches the attention of Thomas Harper(Kevin Costner) a CIA official. Not long after completing rehab Jack is approached by Harper to join the CIA. Now the film picks up ten years later Jack and Cathy are in a serious relationship together and he is working undercover at a Wall Street stock brokerage as a compliance officer. His task is looking for suspicious financial transactions that would indicate terrorist activity. At a United Nations hearing the Russian Federation loses the vote of the Unites States for keeping it the leader in oil exportation in that area which if not would cause the collapse of the Russian economic system.



After noticing things are not right with the market Jack comes across some secret hidden accounts once loaded with trillions of dollars owned by Russian organizations and mostly controlled by Viktor Cherevin(Kenneth Branagh), Jack gets the approval of his boss and heads to Moscow to investigate. Now we have our spy movie and honestly i think the movie would have been better if it had a bit more action in it i mean it started out good but then it slows down for about 45 minutes which in a movie of this genre you just cant have that. Although once the operation starts it doesn't let up with plenty of great action scenes, my favorite being when jack picks up a piece of metal and jumps on a moving cars hood then bashes the driver window opening knocking the driver out, sure it may be unrealistic but that doesn't mean it wasn't cool.

Overall i give it a 6.5 Seeing that this movie was made for only 60 million and its made 135 million total i wouldn't call this movie a box office bomb like some do sure the opening weekend was bad but basically any movie that gets released in January bombs. Also Kevin Costner was way better in this than he was in 3 Days to Kill.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Ride Along review

Posted : 3 years, 2 months ago on 10 June 2014 10:03 (A review of Ride Along)

Ride Along was actually pretty funny but i felt like it should have been rated R rather than PG-13 and you can clearly see that in Ice Cube's acting. With him being a great verbal actor and this being PG-13 it only constricts how far his character can go which really sucks on the other hand Kevin Hart absolutely kills it in this, he is for sure the highlight of this buddy cop movie. The story again like most buddy cop movies nowadays is with little thought and relies on too much on its actors to make it entertaining its a good thing the actors do a good job and make it at least watchable. Alright i think we all know Tim Story has directed some crap movies his worst of course being the two Fantastic Four movies but this movie is actually the first movie i like of his also i wonder how much Jason Mantzoukas had to do with the script because that guy is freaking hilarious. Okay most of the time i like seeing John Leguizamo in movies but this time i just found him to be annoying also i totally wasn't expecting Laurence Fishburne to be in this movie and i was surprised when he walked into the scene and while his character is "the bad guy" he never really seems convincing.

Overall i give it a 6.0 The big speech scene at the end with Kevin Hart was easily the best part of the movie also Tika Sumpter was easy on the eyes.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Edge of Tomorrow review

Posted : 3 years, 2 months ago on 9 June 2014 09:05 (A review of Edge of Tomorrow)

"What I am about to tell you sounds crazy, it's true and you have to listen to me. Your very lives depend on it."



Edge Of Tomorrow is easily my favorite Tom Cruise movie that being said i have never really been a big fan of the guy but ever since Mission: Impossible – Ghost Protocol i actually started to kinda like him, sure his last film Oblivion may have been average but honestly most sci-fi movies nowadays are. Now i have never read the Manga/Novel whatever you call it but after watching the movie i just might want to give it a try, im sure it can only be better. Doug Liman has directed quite a few action movies so this is nothing new to him and honestly i thought the action was pretty awesome seeing Tom Cruise and Emily Blunt kick some ass in several scenes never gets tiring no matter how many times you see them. It's sad when some crap teen movie that people have seen literally thousands of times can get make more money at the box office than a movie with a intriguing cast and story.



The movie follows Major William Cage(Tom Cruise) a UDF(United Defense Forces) spokesman and officer in the United States military and after being summoned to London to meet with General Brigham(Brendan Gleeson) he is shipped off to the front lines of combat to fight a alien species called Mimics despite not actually being a soldier. Once on the front lines of the beach we see Cage fight and kill a huge Mimic but in the process he himself is killed but instead of dying he wakes up as if nothing had happened and he lives the previous day all over again. From here we see this process over and over which instead of being tedious they make each time he dies shorter and sometimes even funny. During each death Cage gains more knowledge so he would know whats going to happen, so later when he is out on the battlefield again he saves a woman named Rita Vrataski(Emily Blunt) and while saving her she realizes something about him and tells him to find her when he wakes up again then she lets herself die in an explosion and soon after that Cage dies.



Remembering to find Rita, Cage sets out to find her and in the process we see him die some more but we soon figure out whats going on with him and why he can live the same day over and over but we also figure out why Rita was able to know why Cage was special. Now we have our story in which it does take till the second half of the movie till we actually get into the story part rather than him just training. After reading some other reviews for the film they all seem to say its a mix of Starship Troopers meets Groundhog Day and pretty much for the most part thats spot on. Edge Of Tomorrow is by by far the best sci-fi blockbuster i have seen in some time (not counting superhero movies which for the most part i don't consider sci-fi) and by far the best i have seen from Doug Liman.



Overall i give it a 8.0 Tom Cruise does a solid acting performance but seriously i loved Emily Blunt in this she was so great in fact she is now one of my favorite actresses also Bill Paxton and Noah Taylor do solid performances. If you want to see a movie with great visuals then Edge Of Tomorrow is for sure a much watch at the theaters other then that just wait till Blu ray to watch it.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Brave review

Posted : 3 years, 2 months ago on 8 June 2014 10:10 (A review of Brave)

"If you had a chance to change your fate, would you?"


Well Pixar's first try at a princess movie is enjoyable but clearly Disney is the leader of this market. Now this is my second viewing for this movie first was back when it was released on Blu ray and while i still find the movie entertaining i didn't find myself laughing as much this time around and most of the time the laughs came from the three little brothers other then that i laughed maybe 2 or 3 times. Seeing that this is an original story and not a sequel the story is rather unoriginal and underwhelming compared to past original Pixar films other than the Cars movies which are just terrible. Personally i think Steve Purcell had a bit too much of a hands-on with this movie and that's why it didn't turn out as well as it could have.



The movie follows Merida a young Princess and ever since her father King Fergus(Billy Connolly) gave her a bow and some arrows when she was just a child she has been different. She is not like every other princess she is more a tomboy that likes to do archery and go on adventures something her mother Queen Elinor(Emma Thompson) highly disapproves of. Soon her mother and father tell her that she has to get married to one of the three other clans prince's, reluctant to agree Merida and her mother get into a heated argument to a point were Merida storms out and goes into the forest. Once deep into the forest she notices a blue orb type thing floating in the air and she decides to following it, it leads her to a old witch's cabin were she ends up asking the witch to change her mom. Now we have our story and like i said before its unoriginal and underwhelming which is a shame because the trailers made the movie look a lot better then what it ended up being but still though i enjoyed the movie.



For the most part the only thing that separates this Pixar movie from other movie studios like Walt Disney Animation, DreamWorks Animation, and Illumination Entertainment, is its amazing use of animation. Everything was beautifully detailed especially Merida's hair and the grass which both right from the beginning are a stand out with just how gorgeous the movie looks but i guess with them updating their animation system for the first time in about 25 years it was bound to looks stunning. The cast was good but no one was a really stood out and with a list of actors like Billy Connolly, Craig Ferguson, Emma Thompson, Kelly Macdonald, Robbie Coltrane, Kevin McKidd that was kinda a let down. The action was entertaining but there just wasn't enough of it to really mean anything well i guess because half of the fighting was between the four clans where the humor comes in and no one dies.



Overall i give it a 7.0 Well honestly i have this as my 3rd least favorite Pixar movie of course ahead of the two Cars movies still though this is a good first try for Pixar but honestly they should just let Disney do the princess movies as they are obviously the best ones at doing it.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Money Talks review

Posted : 3 years, 2 months ago on 6 June 2014 12:20 (A review of Money Talks)

Now personally im not a big fan of Brett Ratner and not just because of what he did to the X-Men Franchise but i just thought all his films have been average at best and his last two movies(Tower Heist and Movie 43) were complete garbage. It seems the only movies of his i find enjoyable our the ones that Chris Tucker are in and yes that includes Rush Hour 3 which i find isnt as bad as people think. The film follows two people Franklin Hatchett (Chris Tucker) a small time hustler just doing enough to get by and James Russell (Charlie Sheen) a pretty boy news reporter trying to make a name for himself. Soon the two of them find themselves wrapped up in a fight for their lives with a local gang that Franklin owes money to and some big time French criminals who are after their diamonds that Franklin took from them. The movie has tons of laughs mostly coming from Chris Tucker which honestly its a shame we don't see much more of him anymore the guy makes me laugh so much. Anyways Charlie Sheen also does a solid job in providing a few laughs but for the most part his character is bland his fiancee in the movie is played by Heather Locklear which looked so gorgeous. The story is generic but it has solid acting, action, and comedy, for it to pass as a good buddy movie.

Overall i give it a 6.5 Can we please get a Blu Ray release of this New Line?


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Sunshine review

Posted : 3 years, 2 months ago on 5 June 2014 10:58 (A review of Sunshine)

Only dream I ever have... is it the surface of the sun? Everytime I shut my eyes... it's always the same.


Sunshine is such a beautiful but it saddens me that it missed its opportunity from being a great film to an amazing film. Seeing that i watched Danny Boyle's newest movie "Trance" just last month i thought id give this another watch because i had only seen it once before so i figured id give a proper review for it rather then the horrible one i had before. It took me awhile to finally get around to watching this movie and by then i had pretty much known most of the cast by seeing them in previous movies. Cillian Murphy leads the film and does an amazing performance, then we have Chris Evans, Cliff Curtis, Rose Byrne, Michelle Yeoh, Hiroyuki Sanada, Mark Strong and a few others and all of them do solid performances well other then Mark Strong because i absolutely hated his role as the horror part in the film.



The film follows a group of scientist and astronauts on a spaceship named the "Icarus II". headed to reignite our dying sun by launching a massive bomb into it. Now the first 45 minutes of this film was simply beautiful with many gorgeous scenes reminiscent of 2001: A Space Odyssey but after that the film turns into a bit of a mix bag for me. On there way to the sun they hear a distress signal they soon find out that its the "Icarus I" so they weigh out their options to see if they should attempt to recover the other bomb and while some don't think its a good idea the final decision is up to Capa(Murphy) and he chooses that they should recover it. While on there way to the Icarus I something happens to the ship resulting in the death of one team member and making the trip to the other ship a must. Once they get on the ship they figure out what happen to the other team and from here the movie turns from being a beautiful sci-fi film to a sci-fi horror which honestly ruined the whole vibe of the film for me.



To make things worse was the horrible screen distortion the film had every time Mark Strong was in it and after the fifth time of seeing shaky, blurry scenes i could only shake my head as we have to sit through another 10-15 scenes of the same shaky, blurry crap. What is a saving grace about the second half of the movie is that it has great acting mostly by Cillian Murphy who does a phenomenal job and the few beautiful scenes they had like in the first half. The film had such penitential but it decides to throw away its awe inspiring first act for a subpar and rather underwhelming second act. The special effects were top notch and they display that by showing you mesmerizing shots of planets as they past by them and the sun and the last scene with Capa which was spectacular also the score by John Murphy was simply perfect maybe one of the best all time at least for me.

Overall i give it a 8.0 It just sucks this film had to have horror in it because other then that this would for sure be in my top ten favorite sci-fi films.




0 comments, Reply to this entry

Airheads review

Posted : 3 years, 2 months ago on 5 June 2014 06:30 (A review of Airheads)

Airheads is actually a pretty funny movie once you get over how lazy the whole plot is. I used to watch this movie all the time when i was younger i found the movie funny back then and i still find it funny today. The movie follows three rocker dudes in a band called "The Lone Rangers" Chazz(Brendan Fraser), Rex(Steve Buscemi), and Pip(Adam Sandler) and after Chazz gets dumped by his girlfriend Kayla(Amy Locane) he sets a crazy plan for them to get a record contract. The plan is to hold up the towns local rock radio station with some realistic looking water guns filled with hot sauce so they can play their song real fast then split so they don't get caught well things soon go bad and the police are called in. From here we see them becomes friends with some of the hostages they are holding (which sounds completely ridiculous) and they mess with the police by demanding a bunch of weird stuff like cottage cheese in a football helmet.

overall i give it a 6.0 i know some people don't like Brendan Fraser but the guy really isn't that bad, Steve Buscemi was great as always, and Adam Sandler didn't talk all that much which was nice because at this point i honestly don't want to hear him speak. The movie has a great side cast with Chris Farley, Judd Nelson, Ernie Hudson, Michael Richards, Joe Mantegna, Harold Ramis Mike Judge as the voices of Beavis and Butt-Head also Lemmy from the band Motörhead made a cameo plus the band White Zombie was in this.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

October Sky review

Posted : 3 years, 2 months ago on 3 June 2014 06:01 (A review of October Sky)

"Look at it go, Homer. This one's gunna go for miles."


October Sky is such an amazing film and is by far Joe Johnston at his finest. I know some people don't like Jake Gyllenhaal but seriously the guy isnt that bad of an actor and if more people had seen this movie they would now that. Based on the true life story of Homer Hickam (Gyllenhaal) a normal kid living in the small coal mining town of Coalwood, West Virginia. He dreams of being something more then just a coal miner and after seeing the sputnik rocket streak across the nights sky his dreams of doing something bigger and better is something he has to achieve. Despite him and his friends being laughed at, they shoot off many rockets and with each one gaining more and more confidence and experience. After wining the state and country science fair Homer goes back to his hometown to be praised and honored but yet to have seek the approval of his father John Hickam (Chris Cooper) Its not until the very last rocket does his dad show up to see a lunch of a rocket and is struck with amazement when he finally sees it. Seriously though Jake Gyllenhaal is one of my top 25 favorite actors and i have yet to see him put on a performance better then this. The surrounding cast is just as great with Chris Cooper, Laura Dern, Chris Owen and Natalie Canerday all doing solid performances.

Overall i give it a 8.5 Iv'e been waiting for the past several years for a Blu ray release and i seriously hope it get does. October Sky is for sure its one of my favorite movie of all times and with such a beautiful heartwarming story i never get tired of watching.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

The Heat review

Posted : 3 years, 2 months ago on 3 June 2014 05:31 (A review of The Heat)

The Heat was actually a pretty good buddy cop comedy based solely on the two main actors alone because they pretty much made a movie with a half-assed script enjoyable to watch. Sandra Bullock plays FBI Agent Sarah Ashburn she is rather arrogant and likes to showboat which is why she is despised by her fellow agents, she is sent to Boston to help assist in a crime she soon meets Shannon Mullins a police officer for the Boston Police Department, a violent, foul mouthed officer that will to do anything to get the job done. The actual plot of the film starts about one hour into it and see that's the thing the movie was too long well at least the first half of the movie moved too slow they should cut off 15 minutes and it would have been a good running time but two hours for a movie with a lazy plot no thanks. The dialog exchange between actors was the best part of the movie and pretty much Melissa McCarthy kicked ass at this it seemed like she ad libbed almost all her jokes because they try to hammer every joke in and for some i can see how this could be off putting but i loved it, Sandra Bullock was great as usual but i felt that her character was still a bit safe still though she was a delight to watch. The supporting cast was a hit and miss for me, i didnt care for Marlon Wayans, Taran Killam and John Ross Bowie but i liked Dan Bakkedahl, Michael Rapaport and Bill Burr.

Overall i give it a 7.0


0 comments, Reply to this entry

A Million Ways to Die in the West review

Posted : 3 years, 2 months ago on 2 June 2014 04:20 (A review of A Million Ways to Die in the West)

I would seriously recommend that no one spend their money to go see this in theaters i did and i completely regret it now you should just wait till its out on Blu ray or Netflix. Now i didn't see Ted in theaters but i ended up laughing quite a bit when i finally got around to seeing it so i thought that id give it this a watch because the trailers looked funny but the movie was just awful and a waste of time. What's even worse is that the movie ruins its all star cast with having Seth MacFarlane take the acting lead for the first time and he fails miserably. I'm saying this right now no one should ever compare this with Mel Brook's western comedy classic "Blazing Saddles" because this film is complete garbage on every level compared to that movie.

The movie follows Albert (MacFarlane) a smart-aleck sheep farmer living in 1882's deadly Arizona and after his schoolteacher girlfriend Louise (Amanda Seyfried) leaves him for the towns "fine suits and mustachery" man Foy played by Neil Patrick Harris. Albert sets out to win her back and in the process becomes friends with a new stranger in town Anna (Charlize Theron) unaware that she is the wife of the notorious ruthless outlaw Clinch Leatherwood (Liam Neeson) who was severely underused. It's plot wouldn't be so bad if the movie wasn't so tedious and if Seth MacFarlane wasn't the lead personally i wish he could have one to die in the many many deaths this movie has to offer. There is also a side story dealing with Albert's best friend Edward (Giovanni Ribisi) and his soon to be wife Ruth (Sarah Silverman) the towns highly known prostitute, their story happened to be more funnier than the main one and was really the high light of a movie full of flat jokes and annoying Seth MacFarlane and with a title like "A Million Ways to Die in the West" i chuckled no more then a dozen times. Seriously though this made me rethink about the quality of humor this guy produces after seeing this woefully unfunny western comedy.

Overall i give it a 5.0



0 comments, Reply to this entry



Insert image

drop image here
(or click)
or enter URL:
 link image?  square?

Insert video

Format block