Explore
 Lists  Reviews  Images  Update feed
Categories
MoviesTV ShowsMusicBooksGamesDVDs/Blu-RayPeopleArt & DesignPlacesWeb TV & PodcastsToys & CollectiblesComic Book SeriesBeautyAnimals   View more categories »
All reviews - Movies (219) - TV Shows (15) - Games (8)

TRON: Legacy review

Posted : 3 years, 2 months ago on 1 June 2014 09:34 (A review of TRON: Legacy)

"You can't steal something that's designed to be given away free."


Surprisingly i have never seen the original Tron movie despite it being one of the most well known sci-fi movies ever but whats more of a surprise is that sci-fi is my favorite genre and i haven't seen it so with that it still took a while for me to finally get around to watching this movie but damn was it awesome. I knew that the critics didn't care for the movie but seriously you can never take what they say on faith and you just have to watch the movie for yourself and when i finally did i found myself liking it more then others. The film boast amazing visuals with top notch CGI, a likable cast, a decent story, and a spectacular soundtrack but where the film fails is how predicable it and its characters can be at time also that i didn't care for the whole father son relationship story arc in the film and it seem to slow it down. Still though i had a really enjoyable time watching this movie and would highly recommend it to people that have yet to see it.



The film follows Sam Flynn (Garrett Hedlund) and after talking to his fathers friend Alan who received a message from his father Kevin Flynn (Jeff Bridges) who has been missing for the past 20 years, Sam goes down to his dads old video arcade place to check it out. He soon finds a old computer and after messing around with it he unknowingly transports himself into a digital world known as "The Grid". He is soon caught and taken to what is called "The Games" a huge arena where a bunch of programs fight each other with their digital identity discs. This was one of the most thrilling parts of the movie seeing Sam fight against the programs then seeing him fight on the motorcycles it was a spectacle to watch with an amazing use of CGI that was a absolute wonder to look at.



While in the games Sam is rescued by a mysterious person we soon come to learn that this is Quorra (Olivia Wilde) she is his friends with his father and is taking him to meet him. From here we find out why Sam received the message and its not for the reason he was thinking, now its up to the three of them to stop Kevin's evil digital clone Clu who has gone mad with trying to make everything perfect resulting in him committing genocide on a entire digital race called ISO's. The story does have its fair share of plot holes with some being minor and some big still though in the end i enjoyed its story and its flaws weren't that big of a problem to me as it is with others. My favorite part of the movie i would have to say was the Club scene for sure DAFT PUNK in the DJ booth blaring some great tunes while we get to see a kick ass action sequence also seeing Olivia Wilde kick some ass was just totally awesome.



Overall i give it a 7.5 Now i know some people didn't like the younger digital face of Jeff Bridges but honestly its not has bad as what people make it out to be and to be honest i was rather impressed by how it looked now i didn't see it in theaters and maybe they touched it up a little more when they released it out on Blu ray/DVD but i cant say. Other then that i absolutely loved Olivia Wilde in this she looked simply gorgeous and her character was awesome. It would have cool to see a bit more of Tron though as he was totally kick ass in all his parts.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

John Carter review

Posted : 3 years, 2 months ago on 31 May 2014 10:03 (A review of John Carter)

John Carter is actually not that bad of a film when you think about it sure it may have not lived up to the hype but that was because we had already seen pretty everything the movie had to offer also the fact that they placed the movie between "The Lorax" and "The Hunger Games" which was a completely stupid idea still though i had an enjoyable time watching the movie and wouldnt mind a sequel but that will never happen at least not for a really really long time. I thought the cast all did solid performances Taylor Kitsch wasn't so annoying in this movie as he has been in others, Lynn Collins was so freaking gorgeous with all her outfits and those damn blue eyes so gorgeous, i totally forgot that
Bryan Cranston was in this and i thought he did a good for how little he was in it, Willem Dafoe does more great voice work guy has a amazing voice, the only actor i did really care for was Mark Strong. The CGI was spectacular, the action was good, and the story was decent, it was also cool to see it go from a western to a full blown sci-fi extravaganza. What i didnt like about the movie is that it seemed crowded what i mean is like the first hour of the movie felt like at least an hour and a half because of how much stuff had already happened then it pretty much does it throughout the second half but not as bad that's what really kills the movie.

Overall i give it a 7.0


0 comments, Reply to this entry

The Goonies review

Posted : 3 years, 2 months ago on 30 May 2014 08:40 (A review of The Goonies)


You guys, I'm hungry. I know when my stomach growls there's trouble.




The Goonies is a wonderful adventure tale set to thrill kids and without of a doubt my favorite kids movie of all time sorry Toy Story. Every time i watch this movie i get such a nostalgia rush, i remember watching it all time when i was young its one of those movies that you can watch over and over and never get tired of it. Honestly though im not even sure how many times I've watched this movie i would have to say that its between this and The Lord of the Rings: Return of the King for the most times I've watched a movie but if i had to put a number on it though id have to say over 100 times. Richard Donner has always been one of my favorite directors with such films as Superman (1978), the Lethal Weapon movies, and Scrooged, he was one of the directors who's movies i watch a lot of growing up. Now i know people will disagree with me but i think The Goonies is his best movie.



The movie follows a group of four young friends who live in the "Goon Docks" and call themselves "The Goonies" Mikey (Sean Astin) the leader of the group, Mouth (Corey Feldman) the smart aleck, Chunk (Jeff Cohen) the funny fat kid, and Data (Jonathan Ke Quan) the groups macgyver. They all are in danger of losing their homes and the only way to save them is to pay a serious amount of money which none of them have. Bored and sad they decide to go looking around in Mikey's dads off limits attic for 'rich stuff' they soon stumble upon a really old treasure map which was once the property of the pirate One-Eyed Willie's. Mikey tries to persuade his friends to go looking after it but they don't seem all that interested, eventually the group decides to go looking for it while disobeying Mikey's older brother Brand (Josh Brolin) rule to stay inside.



From here we see the group of friends find their way into One-Eyed Willie's cavern filled with tons of deadly booby traps but not before catching the attention of a criminal family the Fratellis that now after capturing Chunk know all about the treasure. The craven part is where most of the movie fun comes from, it feels like a more childish Indiana Jones which i know some don't like i on the other hand loved it. Seriously though What did they expect did they not know that Spielberg wrote the story for it kinda hard not to know seeing that his name is the first one to pop up on screen. The group having had a few encounters with the Fratellis at this point finally out run them and find there way to One-Eyed Willie's hidden treasure where they load up with as much gold, gems, and pretty much anything else they possibly can get their hands on only to be caught by the Fratellis and forced to hand it all over to them. The group makes a getaway when Chunk with the help of Sloth(the Fratellis disfigured brother who they horribly mistreat) come to save the day. Mikey still sad they didn't get any treasure forgets that he put some gems inside his marble bag and when his family's maid looks through it she flips out and gives it to them so they don't have to leave to Goon Docks.



Overall i give it a solid 10 my score might be skewed for this movie but like i said i used to watch it all the time when i was a kid and loved it but also the fact that its based in Oregon my home state. I was actually in Astoria (the town the movies based in) just last week and went up to see the house and area for the first time and i absolutely loved it. Oh yeah watching it on Blu Ray was a trill in itself just to see how great the movie looks


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Escape Plan review

Posted : 3 years, 2 months ago on 28 May 2014 11:43 (A review of Escape Plan)

"Heh heh. You hit like a vegetarian!"


You know the trailer for this movie looked good but once reviews came out for it and i saw that critics were hating on it and i lost desire to watch it anytime soon. Seeing that i have been on a action movie binge for that past couple days i thought that id give it a watch. Surprisingly though i actually liked the movie more then what i thought i would sure it may not be one of the better movies from the past couple years but it was for sure one of the better action movies within that time. Escape Plan stars my two favorite action movie actors and with each of them having come off a underwhelming solo movie it was nice to see them finally in a movie as the main characters and seeing them kick some ass together. I have only seen two of director Mikael Håfström movies and both of them being horrors movies also neither of them good it was quite nice too see that he was able to make a solid action flick.



The film follows Ray Breslin(Stallone) a highly skilled prison escape artist that makes a living by breaking out of all the country's best prisons by finding the flaws within its system. Soon he and his team Abigail(Amy Ryan) and Hush(50 Cent) are approached by the CIA seeing if he will try to escape from a highly top secret prison known as The Tomb designed for only the most ruthless of prisoners. He accepts the job but upon being abducted he soon figures out this is no normal job and comes face to face with terms that he has been set up and his now locked up in the prison with no help from his team. Ray soon becomes friends a with fellow inmate named Rottmayer (Schwarzenegger) after he protects him from being attacked back when he first arrives at the prison. From here we see are two actors plan out their escape that ends up having its fair share up screw ups and twists, i will say that the big twist in the film was not that great and i seen it coming something Schwarzenegger confirms at the end of the film.



The action was solid but nothing great although it was totally awesome seeing Schwarzenegger gun down all those people with the huge machine gun at the end it was for sure my favorite scene. The fight that Stallone has with Vinnie Jones (the films lackey) at the end was decent but overall a letdown, also it was funny seeing James Caviezel (the warden of the prison) get blown up there at the end and you see his roasting body fall on the ground. The movie wasn't without its fair share of "Shake my head" moments but all that is forgotten once the bullets start flying. The very ending i would have to say the is the weakest part of the movie and would have rather them had spend just a little more time and wrap it up a bit more nicely.

Overall i give it a 7.0


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Starship Troopers review

Posted : 3 years, 2 months ago on 28 May 2014 06:41 (A review of Starship Troopers)

"This is for all you new people: I only have one rule. Everyone fights. No one quits. You don't do your job, I'll shoot you myself. You get me?"



Starship Troopers is such a underrated movie and clearly seeing by the 6.4 rating here on Listal most the people just don't see how awesome this movie is. With an entertaining plot supported by a great cast and a great mix of gory action and cheesy dialog its for sure one of my favorite sci-fi action movies of all time its also another one of the many great action flicks i grew up on. Paul Verhoeven director of other great action movies like RoboCop and Total Recall has always been one of my favorite directors and it saddens me to see to see his great movies get Hollywood remade and they just end up being total garbage seriously both the 2012 remake of Total Recall and 2014's RoboCop remake sucked hardcore.



The film follows Johnny Rico(Casper Van Dien) a high school jock and soon school will be over and he is not 100% sure what to do. After graduation he finally decides to enlist into the military as combat infantry because his girlfriend Carmen Ibanez(Denise Richards) is also going into the military but as a spaceship pilot. During combat training war breaks out when a alien bug race sends a meteor to earth destroying Rico's home city. Soon Rico and others are shipped out to war but they find that they underestimated the bugs and many more people die, we soon see him go from a rookie to a seasoned solider leading his own squad. The film has some great gory action scenes no short of seeing people get their body gets ripped apart also the CGI was amazing for its time, the spaceships, planets, alien plasma, all looked great.

Another great thing about the movie was both Denise Richards and Dina Meyer sure Denise's character was annoying and i personally would rather had they kill her off rather then Dizzy(Dina Meyer) but they both are sexy as hell in the movie, even today they still look great i don't care what anyone says also great seeing Neil Patrick Harris in this however little that my be.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Big Trouble in Little China review

Posted : 3 years, 2 months ago on 27 May 2014 06:42 (A review of Big Trouble in Little China)

When some wild-eyed, eight-foot-tall maniac grabs your neck, taps the back of your favorite head up against the barroom wall, and he looks you crooked in the eye and he asks you if ya paid your dues, you just stare that big sucker right back in the eye, and you remember what ol' Jack Burton always says at a time like that: "Have ya paid your dues, Jack?" "Yessir, the check is in the mail."




Big Trouble in Little China is one of my favorite 80's action flicks without a doubt. Of course this was one of the many action movies i loved growing up but the last time i watched it was back when it first came out on dvd, i just so happen to pick it up on Blu ray over the weekend and thought the movie was in definite need of a re-watch. With a great blend of action and comedy, an entertaining plot, and a lovable cast, Big Trouble in Little China is a must watch for any movie lover of 80's action films. This is the fourth film of John Carpenter staring Kurt Russell the other three being The Thing, Escape from New York, and Escape from L.A. i would have to say this is my second favorite behind The Thing of course.



The film follows Jack Burton (Kurt Russell) a witty, smart mouth truck driver and while in the back streets of San Francisco's China Town him and his friend Wang Chi (Dennis Dun) soon find themselves wrapped up in a ancient Chinese gang war dealing with the supernatural when Wang's soon-to-be wife is kidnapped by the evil gang. From here the story leads you on a action packed adventure, where see them fight everything from martial arts experts, to monsters, to ancient thunder wielding masters. The comedy i would say has to be about the best thing about the movie, if it was just a action movie i think it wouldn't have worked out. The fact that John Carpenter was able to pull off all three of the action, comedy, and sci-fi makes this film one of the best from its time and it also happens to be one of my favorite movie of all time.

Overall i give it a 8.0 Kurt Russell was awesome as always, Kim Cattrall was a babe, James Hong was great as the villain, and Victor Wong was great as the ancient master for the good side.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

3 Days To Kill review

Posted : 3 years, 2 months ago on 26 May 2014 07:33 (A review of 3 Days To Kill)

So 3 Days to Kill was a complete waste of 2 hours, i wouldn't even call this a action movie because the little action there is beyond bland and generic as hell. Plus the fact that over half of the film is Kevin Costner dealing with trying to rebuild a relationship with his family which was really annoying. I would say that it overshadows the action side of the story but see thats the thing the whole thing, the action part was so horribly underwritten that i consider this a drama more then anything else. Also the film is cliche after cliche with the whole father daughter aspect, like he teaches her how to ride a bike, teaches her how to dance, trying to be nice to her boyfriend, saves her from being molested by a bunch of dudes just your typical father/daughter crap. I was thinking maybe Costner could make a comeback with this movie but sadly not, i really like the guy but he has been making crap movies as of late. Amber Heard was the best part of the movie and see wasn't in it all that much anyways she looked absolutely gorgeous, Hailee Steinfeld was "Meh" unfortunately. McG has made several movies the only two worth watching are We Are Marshall and Terminator Salvation and those and those two are just average movies.

Overall i give it a 4.0


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Pompeii review

Posted : 3 years, 2 months ago on 25 May 2014 09:53 (A review of Pompeii)

You know whats funny is that i thought this movie was going to be straight garbage but honestly it ended up being better then what i thought it would. Don't get me wrong the film is horrible anyways but i don't think its as bad as some other films films we have gotten this year like "The legend of hercules" and I,Frankenstein but Pompeii is a somewhat entertaining action movie despite its tedious plot which felt like a copy of Ridley Scott's Gladiator but only much much much! worse. I have never been a fan of Paul W.S. Anderson all but one of his movies have been mediocre at best, the only one that i have liked is Event Horizon and that's because its hard for me not to like a sci-fi movie. The action was pretty decent and entertaining enough to keep me somewhat intrigued, Kit Harington and Adewale Akinnuoye-Agbaje as the two main gladiators was a actually pretty fun duo to watch unfortunately we didn't get to see enough of them. Kiefer Sutherland as the stories antagonist was painful to watch and for the first time made me think that keifer was a douche in a movie although his character calls for it but instead of convincing how bad he is i just found him to be rather annoying. Anyways the best part of the movie was seeing the volcano explode sadly it takes over an hour till that happens and when we finally do its just short glimpses of it. Surprisingly the CGI was decent but for a movie with a $100 million dollar budget that really shouldn't be a surprise although seeing how many movies nowadays have $100m+ budgets and the CGI ends up looking like complete garbage this one ends up being good enough to pass.

Overall i give it a 4.5


0 comments, Reply to this entry

X-Men: Days of Future Past review

Posted : 3 years, 2 months ago on 25 May 2014 03:22 (A review of X-Men: Days of Future Past)

"So many battles waged over the years... and yet, none like this. Are we destined to destroy each other, or can we change each other and unite? Is the future truly set?"


Without a doubt the best X-men movie yet. Director Bryan Singer seamlessly blends the original series characters very well with First Class characters while also introducing all new characters intertwining both universes into one cohesive film that by the end will leave you wanting more. I was actually surprised by how much i ended up liking X-Men: Days of Future Past, the trailers didn't really do anything for me and i have never really thought that the X-Men films were all that great to begin with the exception of First Class which i thought was a refreshing take on the franchise. The films plot deals with time travel and with that Bryan Singer rights all the wrongs that have been done to the franchise and setting it up for bigger and crazier things to come.



The film opens up in the future, times are dark and we see that only a few mutants are left thanks to a army of government controlled Sentinels made by Trask Industries. With little time left Xavier (Stewart) and Magneto (McKellen) with the help of kitty Pryde (Page) plan is to send Wolverine's (Jackman) consciousness back to 1973 in order to stop the Sentinel program from ever starting. Once in the 1970's story arc the plot turns to finding Mystique (Lawrence) as we soon find out that she is the main reason to why the future Sentinels are able to hunt down a kill the Mutants with ease.



Before Wolverine a young Xavier (McAvoy) and Beast (Hoult) can find Mystique they must free Magneto(Fassbender) who is being held prisoner 100 floors underneath the pentagon for committing a heinous crime killing the president. Anyways to free Magneto Wolverine seeks out the help of Quicksilver (Evan Peters) which honestly ended up being the biggest surprise of the whole movie. He pretty much stole every scene he was in, his part of the film ends up being the most humorist also he has this one scene that was just totally awesome pretty much everyone in my theater was laughing.



The action was kick ass in both the future and past stories but of course the future action was better and it doesn't take more then the opening to show you that. Another great thing about the film is that you get to see plenty of superheros die, not just die but get brutally killed that was actually cool to see for once. The film did have it fair share of problems and even though they didn't present that much of a problem it was still a shame to see Singer and the writers let that happen. The special effects were amazing to say the least at no point did i ever question it, even when we see things like Magneto ripping apart a baseball stadium and making it float across the sky as little parts of concrete and earth fall from it. The Sound editing was also pretty great too they knew the right moments to cut the sound out setting the tone of a intense and powerful scene, they do that a couple times throughout.

Overall i give it a 8.0 While i didn't think it was better then Captain America: The Winter Soldier, X-Men: Days of Future Past is miles better then any previous X-Men movies and sets the path towards the Apocalypse in 2016.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

I, Frankenstein review

Posted : 3 years, 2 months ago on 24 May 2014 11:35 (A review of I, Frankenstein)

This movie is straight garbage! I mean i knew that it was going to be from the first time i watched the trailers but i was thinking maybe since Aaron Eckhart is in it i might like it. I know most people hated his alien invasion movie "Battle Los Angeles" but i found it to be not all that bad actually. This movie on the other hand was completely unwatchable, i was starting to fall asleep half way through and the only reason i finished it was to continue with my at least one movie a day routine and bring you all this review and tell you to save yourself the 90 minutes of eye rape and would prefer you to watch pretty much anything else. The story was crap, the demons were a total rip off of Joss Whedon's Buffy the Vampire Slayer also the way they die was a rip off of Blade, the gargoyles were decent but nothing great, acting was freaking horrendous both Aaron Eckhart and Bill Nighy were a let down, Miranda Otto was completely forgettable, i seriously cant stand Jai Courtney and Yvonne Strahovski was annoying because of her character arc in the film, The one i liked was Caitlin Stasey and she dies not long after you first see her.

Overall i give it a 3.0


0 comments, Reply to this entry



Insert image

drop image here
(or click)
or enter URL:
 link image?  square?

Insert video

Format block