Explore
 Lists  Reviews  Images  Update feed
Categories
MoviesTV ShowsMusicBooksGamesDVDs/Blu-RayPeopleArt & DesignPlacesWeb TV & PodcastsToys & CollectiblesComic Book SeriesBeautyAnimals   View more categories »
Listal logo
All reviews - Movies (218) - TV Shows (15) - Games (8)

American Hustle review

Posted : 4 years, 11 months ago on 1 January 2014 12:51 (A review of American Hustle)

From David O. Russell the director of The Fighter and Silver Linings Playbook brings us a "some what true stroy" of A FBI operation that took place in the late 1970s to early 80s. Irving Rosenfeld (Bale) and Sydney Prosser (Adams) are two con artist that end up being forced to work for the FBI (Cooper) to help them set up a operation to take down all the corrupt politicians and mayor of New Jersey. The cast is amazing of course with all these stars it would be hard for a movie not be great. The Dialog was fanstatic it felt real and that's when you know there is good chemistry between all the actors.

Overall though the movie was too bloated for me it felt like the whole time it was one step foward two steps back. A lot of scenes that you can tell have nothing to do with the story other then just to have more character drama. The ending was great though maybe if the movie was about 10-15 minutes shorter then it could have been something great. I give it a 7.3 I don't see how the film is being loved so much people need to get past the eye candy look through all the BS filler and see what the movie really is.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

The Conjuring review

Posted : 4 years, 11 months ago on 30 December 2013 08:09 (A review of The Conjuring)

Based on a true stroy The Conjuring is a movie that follows a family in the early 70's that was being tormented by a demonic demon so they soon seek out the help of paranormal investigators to get rid of the demon haunting them. The story itself is nothing new and the events surrounding the story isn't anything new but James Wan delivers on the suspense of the telling of a old story. There wasn't any jump scare moments well at least none that got me. Also only being made on a 20 million budget was great none of it looked bad and for making over 300 million worldwide that is something.

Overall i give it a 7.5 The movie freaked my mom out she siad she wanted to watch a scary movie then after she siad she never want's to see this movie ever again i laughed =D the movie isn't scary at all


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Prisoners review

Posted : 4 years, 11 months ago on 30 December 2013 05:01 (A review of Prisoners)

Damn This was a great movie had me guessing all the way till the vary end I mean I was able to put some things together through out the movie but all the twists were just crazy an too much. The film follows two families trying to deal with thier daughters coming up missing and the dectective (Jake Gyllenhaal) trying to find out what happened to them. The cast was amazing and everyone did a great job Jake Gyllenhaal does a great cop now doubt about that with End of Watch and now this. Hugh Jackman was on another level though it was the best proformance I have ever seen from him.

The realism is what makes the film how the families try to deal with what is happening to them and what they will do to get their children back. Sure some will say it was hard to watch at times but I guess it's the realism that helps with that. I never really had a hard time watching the torture scenes and seeing all the reviews I was thinking it was going to be a lot worse then it was. The ending leaves off without the whole stroy wrapping up but i actually liked it though I can see why other would be upset by it.

Overall I give it a 8.5 Third best film i watched this year beating out Mud. This movie is a great watch but i think it's one of those movies that you can really only watch once.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Bo Burnham: what. (2013) review

Posted : 4 years, 11 months ago on 29 December 2013 05:22 (A review of Bo Burnham: what. (2013))

What the hell happened Bo this stand up was complete shit at some parts un-watchable both the people I watched it with also love Bo and they thought he sucked it up even another friend of mine siad he stopped watching it after ten mintues but all over Netflix, Youtube, and IMDb people are loving this saying that it's breaking new ground on a comdic level yeah I just didn't see that at all maybe it will grow on me but i just don't see that happening
I will say though Repeat Stuff was a great song/joke.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Riddick review

Posted : 4 years, 11 months ago on 29 December 2013 04:29 (A review of Riddick)

Riddick is a decent film sure it may be great but it sure is a hell of a lot better then The Chronicles of Riddick that movie was crap. It had a different feel then the all other action movies that came out this year I guess that's why I don't hate on it has much as others.

Riddick stranded and left for dead after being tricked by Vaako (karl Urban) he finds himself fighting for his life on planet and that has little to no plant life and everthing is a predator. Finding a outpost he sends out a signal letting mercenaries/bounty hunters know he is on the plant knowing he has a bounty on his head.

In one night he kills three people forcing the two teams to group together to kill try to him. Giving them the option to give him a one ship and live before the storm that's on the horizon hits the outpost. Of course they dont listen and they knock him out and tie him up the storm hits and loads alien monsters come out from beneath the ground and are headed to attack the outpost so they let Riddick out as he is really the only one that knows what to do. This is baiscly when it become pitch black with them just trying to survive the rainy night.

Overall I give it a 6.0 the deaths in the movie were brutal, the creatures looked great, the planet scenery was awesome but the space cgi was horrible Firefly back in 2002 looked better then this seriouly though it looked liked bad 90's space movie cgi.



0 comments, Reply to this entry

The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug review

Posted : 4 years, 11 months ago on 29 December 2013 02:22 (A review of The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug)

Now that I have seen this movie twice once in IMAX 3D HFR format and once in standard format i can say the film feels great either way you watch it. Also I see that a lot more people are liking the HFR this time around which is good becuase I loved it in the first film when most were skeptical of it. Sure they left out some stuff from the book and added in some new thing's that weren't in it but that didn't degrade my experience of the film.

The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug is an amazing movie no doubt about the only other movie that I had just as good of a time watching it at the theater was Gravity. That movie was only 1 hour 30 minutes this movie has at least an hour more of screen time which is non stop epicness. All the Dwarves are still kickass sure it seemed like they had less screen time and I didn't get a get a feel of all them in the group like i did in the first film but they all at one point have thier moment. The barrel scene was so hilarious better then how i expected it to turn out it felt like a mini adventure in itself. Bombur in barrels was so amazing him just spinning around killing orcs that was just brilliant.

Orlando Bloom as Legolas was great he is just BOSS in this straight epic kills the whole time just like back in LOTR. He was also part of the barrel scene which is a part of why that whole scene was epic. Sure he wasn't in the book but the book takes place just 75 years before LOTR and Legolas is anywhere between 500 and 900 years old so it would only makes sense that he would be in it I mean he is the son of Thranduil the elf king. Also Tauriel (Evangeline Lilly) not being an actual Tolkien character she still did an amazing job. I can understand why people don't like her and with her story arc it can be annoyin but I still liked the character being in the film it's always good to have and stunningly beautiful elf girl.

Martin Freeman (Bilbo) again was amazing and with Bilbo going through the first movie finds his "courage" and is more of a badass in this time around killing huge spiders and not being compleatly scared to death of Smaug no way he could have done that in the last film. You also see the toll of what the ring has done and is doing to Bilbo and how he is starting to notice for himslef the power of the ring. Benedict Cumberbatch as Smaug was of course the best character of the film for sure his voice is just so cold and chilling. Seeing this in IMAX was of course a must you can't pass up seeing Smaug in IMAX and i wasnt disappointed he is massive. For a moment there how big he is made me think about the mountian the dwarves carved out and how huge that thing was for Smaug to be able to just move about in there with ease.

Ian McKellen wasn't in the film that much he is for like the first 20 mintues then maybe another 15 mintues 20 max throughout the rest of the film. His battle with The Necromancer was the best part of the film I thought though the whole light magic vs dark magic fight was epic. Luke Evans was great as Bard I always liked him as an actor he was just never in any good movies before this.

There was only a couple thing's I didn't like about the movie one of them was the CGI. A couple times the melted gold looked pretty bad and one time that I seen Smaug looked bad. Now I know Weta can do better then that they the have proved it with movies time and time again it just sucks they dropped the ball this time around. The other thing is the Soundtrack isn't the best Howard Shore is the best hands down but it seems with the soundtrack it didn't set the scenes like it did in The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey and with the LOTR trilogy the only times I really felt the music while I was watching the movie was right in the opening and when Gandalf was fighting The Necromancer other then that it was meh.

Overall I give it a 8.5 I aboslutly love this movie can't wait till blu ray so I can buy it then buy it again when the extended edition comes out like I always have with these films. Oh yeah the Stephen Colbert Cameo was EPIC!!!!


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Now You See Me review

Posted : 4 years, 11 months ago on 27 December 2013 09:39 (A review of Now You See Me)

I really don't want to make this a long review so I wont. The cast was amazing but everything else fell short don't get me wrong i still enjoyed the movie while watching it but i just didn't feel the magic and the whole twist at the end was laughable i seen that half way through but hey i guess it tricked my friend. Overall i give it a 6.0 the cast is the only thing that makes this film re-watchable it's also are getting another unnecessary Hollywood sequel.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Mud review

Posted : 4 years, 11 months ago on 27 December 2013 09:07 (A review of Mud)

I'll be honest I was never really a fan of Matthew McConaughey most of his movies are rather just unwatchable to me save for a few like A Time to Kill, We Are Marshall and Dazed and Confused. Though it seems that with all the highly rated movies that he has either stared in or just acted in this year im really impressed with him and his acting skills. Now I can't wait to see his performance in Christopher Nolan's Interstellar that is coming out next year. I have actally owned this movie for months now and just never really got around to watching it i know Jeff Nichols is a great director i really liked Take Shelter i should've' got around to watching this ALONG TIME AGO.

The movie itself was great yes the story has been done before but it was with a bit of a twist adding a kids point of view so that was great. Sure some will say it was like Stand By Me but for me I just didn't fell it. The whole cast was great both little kids Tye Sheridan and Jacob Lofland both did some great acting they both are young up and coming talent. Although i didn't really care for Reese Witherspoon sure she did ok but i felt like that they should have got another woman for the role personally i would have loved Ali Larter for the role and i thought this was the best i have seen of Reese Witherspoon in a long time.
Matthew McConaughey was just amazing though best i have seen from him ever right from when he first appears on the screen fishing with a small kids fishing rod to when you see him breath in the fresh air at the end he steals the screen.

Overall i give it a 8.2 The movie did feel a bit too long and the action there at the end wasn't anything great but that was needed and im glad it was just the way it was.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Galaxy Quest (1999) review

Posted : 4 years, 12 months ago on 23 December 2013 08:48 (A review of Galaxy Quest (1999))

I freaking love this movie just rewatched it a couple days ago such an amazing cast Tim Allen, Sigourney Weaver, Alan Rickman, Tony Shalhoub, Sam Rockwell all great actors. It's one of those movies that i never get tired of watching. The film follows the cast of a old hit sci-fi tv show that is really a spoof of Star Trek they soon find themselves in a adventure with an alien race that based their whole livelihood around the tv show. Even just a couple days ago i noticed some stuff i have never seen before. Overall I give it a 8/10 definitely worth buying on blu ray.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Don Jon review

Posted : 4 years, 12 months ago on 23 December 2013 08:08 (A review of Don Jon)

Joseph Gordon-Levitt first Movie as a Director and a writer but also starring in it as well. The trailers made me want to see this they were some of the best that i had seen in 2013 i would have gone to the theater to see it but i would have had to drive to the next town over which is at least 20-30 minutes away so i just waited. I loved the first hour of the movie it was funny and enjoyable but then it seemed to just get too serious for me and it wasn't what i thought it was going to be. Overall i give it a 7/10 but i do have to say Joseph Gordon-Levitt is a lucky bastard he got both Scarlett Johansson and Julianne Moore


0 comments, Reply to this entry