Explore
 Lists  Reviews  Images  Update feed
Categories
MoviesTV ShowsMusicBooksGamesDVDs/Blu-RayPeopleArt & DesignPlacesWeb TV & PodcastsToys & CollectiblesComic Book SeriesBeautyAnimals   View more categories »
Listal logo
All reviews - Movies (218) - TV Shows (15) - Games (8)

Europa Report review

Posted : 5 years, 4 months ago on 6 August 2013 11:10 (A review of Europa Report)

A decent Sci-Fi that delivers on realism and some amazing scenes but falls back into the space horror cliche. For the most part the film takes place in the ship and we see them via on-board camera. This choice of filming has it ups and downs but Sebastián Cordero was able to get some amazing shots especially when they are in their space suits.

The movie follows a team of 5 sent to Europa the fourth largest moon of Jupiter. This moon has water underneath it's ice sheets and they are going to be looking for bacteria in the ice and water near a weak spot. They end up being off course and end up needing someone to go outside and collect some surface samples. Karolina Wydra (Dr. Katya Petrovna) is the one to do it and while out there she finds algae growing on the ice. She is about to turn back to the ship when she sees and light underneath the ice going back and forth until she stands there in amazement until the ice brakes from beneath her. You basically already know whats going to happen and how it's going to end. A real cool thing is that the last person ends up offing themselves just to to record the monster on the camera.

Sharlto Copley the only real big actor in this and he is the first one to die off he doesn't even make it to Europa. Him and another crew mate have to go out into space to fix something on the spaceship and something goes wrong which leads to him drifting off into space to die of no oxygen. The film lends nothing to his death and it moves onto the next person like nothing happened.

Overall i give it a 6.5 While i do love the realism and the shots of space that are in this movie i just can't over the fact the when it comes down to it the movie ends up being another lost in space monster movie.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

The Wolverine review

Posted : 5 years, 4 months ago on 6 August 2013 10:13 (A review of The Wolverine)

You know Since i wasn't really expecting much out of this movie after watching the trailers. Though after watching it twice now i can honestly say that i enjoyed it more then the over hyped "Iron Man 3". The movie washes out the horrible taste that X-Men Origins: Wolverine left in your mouth. Oh yeah and the claws don't look like crap either so that's a plus.

Again Hugh Jackman plays Logan aka The Wolverine and just like Robert Downey Jr. with Iron Man the guy is Wolverine simple as that. He has hit rock bottom lowest of lows and he is just looking for a way out. When goes to japan where he meets Shingen (Hiroyuki Sanada) and Marik (Tao Okamoto)the grandkids of the man that he saved back in WWII. There Yashida (Hal Yamanouchi) offers to transfer Logan's healing abilities into his own body so that he can heal himself of his sickness and to get ride of Logan's pain.

The film has some great action i was worried about how it was going to looked but i was not disappointed. People really get messed up more so then the previous X-Men movies which was great. Definitely the best fighting action of this year so far the Silver Samurai fight was awesome and definitely better then what i thought it was going it be. Though the film does seem to change tone there in the third act of it not really sure what James Mangold was thinking but it clearly does feel different and not for the better.

Overall i give it a 7.3 Best Wolverine yet can't wait to see the Directors Cut which is going to be bloodier and also contains 10-12 minutes of extra footage as it does seem this movie needs it. It also has an amazing after credit scene that will just blow your socks off.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Pacific Rim review

Posted : 5 years, 4 months ago on 26 July 2013 04:54 (A review of Pacific Rim)

This is one of those films you just have to watch on the big screen to have the full experience it's just awesome. The movie has had the best visuals of the year so far overtaking Star Trek Into Darkness it was so colorful i could see that just from the trailers. It has an amazing cast Charlie Hunnam, Idris Elba, Ron Perlman, Charlie Day, Burn Gorman. Guillermo del Toro definitely shows his directing skills again with some amazing shots. You can see just how huge the Kaiju and the robots are you really get a sense of the scale those things. Had some great dialog with some witty light sense humor that you can expect in del Toro's recent movies. Also i guess you could call this original but this kind of thing has been seen many times before just del toro pulls it off like a champ.

Overall i give it a 7.0 for sure buying this on blu ray and watching it multiple times. Another film to add to my del Toro movie collection. So cool that Pacific rim 2 is going to happen so we can see more of these awesome fights.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

This Is the End (2013) review

Posted : 5 years, 5 months ago on 17 July 2013 08:32 (A review of This Is the End (2013))

Just an EPIC movie simple as that most fun iv'e had at the movie theaters this year by far. I have been waiting for this movie for about 6 now year back when it was called "Jay and Seth vs. the apocalypse". I'm so glad that it was made and it's really everything I thought it was going to be. Non stop laughing from start to finish and it has amazing main cast James Franco, Jonah Hill, Seth Rogen, Jay Baruchel, Danny McBride, Craig Robinson. I love all those guys and have watched movies with them in them multiple times.

Now the film opens up Seth Rogen picking up Jay Baruchel from the airport so they can chill and hang out together at Rogen' house. Then Rogen get's a call about a party over at James Franco's house Jay doesn't really want to go but they end up going anyway. While at the party you see LOADS of cameos from more amazing actors like Michael Cera, Emma Watson, Paul Rudd, Jason Segel and plenty more but Michael Cera stole every scene he was in. He was just a coked up party whore they whole time and everything he says and does was golden and had me laughing.

Jay ends up needing a pack of cigarettes so him and Seth walk to a nearby store when Jay again tries to go back to Seth's house and just chill and then BOOM everything starts go down earthquake, dark skies, people disappearing. They run back to Franco's house to see that nothing has happened and they try to tell people what going on but no one believes them until another earthquake happens and everyone runs outside to see what's going on. They see that LA is up in flames and there's no where to go that's when a hole starts to appear right in front of them killing some people while others just runs away and this is how we get are main cast. So they get all the food, drinks, drugs, and put them all in one place and they try to go to sleep for the night when they wake up the next morning they see Danny McBride cooking and eating all their remaining food. From here we see them doing crazy stuff like doing a homemade sequel of films that they have done so we see them do "Pineapple Express 2 Red's Revenge" that was just too funny they also get robbed by Emma Watson that part was great.

More crazy stuff happens but that's for you to find out when you watch this amazing movie also the ending was just pure amazingness.

Overall i give it a 8.0 for sure blu ray, for sure watching multiple times!!! can't wait




0 comments, Reply to this entry

Zero Dark Thirty (2012) review

Posted : 5 years, 5 months ago on 16 July 2013 12:33 (A review of Zero Dark Thirty (2012))

Simply overrated to say the least the movie was a bore from start to finish even the last 30 minutes of this film couldn't save it from being an over exaggerated borefest that strays from the source. Yeah Jessica Chastain did a good job but the real person was a guy not sure why hollywood wanted a female for this role Overall i give it a 6.5 don't think ill be watching this anytime soon. Argo was such a better film then this POS


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Predator review

Posted : 5 years, 5 months ago on 16 July 2013 12:23 (A review of Predator)

Arnold Schwarzenegger plays Major Dutch Schaeffer the commander of a special forces unit with stars like Sonny Landham (Billy), Jesse Ventura (Blain), Richard Chaves (Poncho), and Bill Duke (Mac). Dutch’s team is called in by Major George Dillon (Carl Weathers) for a rescue operation that takes place in the harsh jungles of South America. While the mission goes smoothly for the most part other then a battle with a small army in the jungle. The group quickly finds themselves being hunted down by an unknown enemy and being picked off one by one. Till only Schwarzenegger is the last one left and him and the Predator have a Epic showdown at the end.

Overall i give it a 9.0 such a beast of a film glad i own it on blu ray so i can watch it in all it's glory! A action movie with a sci fi twist whats not to love about it. Everytime i watch this movie though i remember the It's Always Sunny in Philadelphia episode were Mac and Dennis fight about watching Transporter 2 vs Predator.

And to quote Mac "Plus, Jason Statham's physique is nothing like the line-up in Predator."


0 comments, Reply to this entry

The Watch (2012) review

Posted : 5 years, 5 months ago on 9 July 2013 10:18 (A review of The Watch (2012))

Better then what others have said about it i actually liked this film sure it's not a great movie but for what it's plot is about couldn't expect that much from it and maybe it's the actors that help the movie. The movie follows a group of guys that start a neighbor hood watch after Even's (Ben Stiller) friend get's killed at his work. they come to find out that it was aliens that killed him and are killing other people in the town and taking over their bodies and taking shelter in the local Costco.

They start to expect that everyone is a alien and don't trust them anymore. Evan thinks that his new neighbor Billy Crudup is a alien and he invites them over for a party with they end up thinking it's a meeting for the aliens but ends up only being a neighborhood orgy. This is part where we see a band "The Lonely Island" jerking each other off i thought that was just too funny and couldn't stop laughing for like five minutes. In the end they end up killing all the aliens by blowing up the Costco

Overall i give it a 6.0 definitely a better watch then what i thought it was going to be maybe ill give it another watch in a couple months


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Spring Breakers (2012) review

Posted : 5 years, 5 months ago on 9 July 2013 09:51 (A review of Spring Breakers (2012))

this movie is just so ridiculous but entertaining at the same time. Four girls on spring break end up turning hardcore what makes it so funny is the girls seeing them in this then seeing them in some of their other work makes this movie even more of a joke. James Franco was the whole reason i wanted to see this his character looked so "pimpin" well of course i also watched for Ashley Benson she is just too gorgeous.

Overall i give it a 6.0 the movie had me laughing the whole time even though it's not a comedy but take it as you will this movie is just absurd


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Silver Linings Playbook review

Posted : 5 years, 5 months ago on 9 July 2013 09:37 (A review of Silver Linings Playbook)

This movie is great and definitely one of the better love movies that iv'e watch in the past couple years. Tons of great actors like Robert De Niro, Jennifer Lawrence, Bradley Cooper , Chris Tucker. The film follows Bradley Cooper (Pat) after staying in a mental hospital for some time he finally get's to go back home to his family. During this time he tries to get his life back together so he can get back together with his ex-wife. While having dinner over at his friends house he meets Jennifer Lawrence (Tiffany) she is Bi-polor and her and Pat have plenty of great moments that end up with one of them freaking out on each other. Tiffany is cousins with Pats ex-wife and she tells him that she will give her letters from him if he helps her with a dancing contest. Basically they end of falling in love with each other by the end of the movie and they place 5th in the dancing contest that's the best she has ever done.


Overall i give it a 8.0 if this movie wasn't like it is with the dialog i doubt that i would like it as much also Jennifer Lawrence is just simply gorgeous!!!





0 comments, Reply to this entry

Despicable Me 2 review

Posted : 5 years, 5 months ago on 9 July 2013 09:20 (A review of Despicable Me 2)

A good movie but doesn't outdo it's predecessor well at least not right now maybe after a couple more watches then maybe it will. After the events in the first film Steve Carell (Gru) is done being a villain he now is just a family guy watching over his three daughters. He gets hired by a Anti-Villain League to track down and find this other villain. In this one Gru has a partner Kristen Wiig (Lucy Wilde) she was ok but didn't really see the point of her other then a type of love story but it's Kristen Wiig and i love her so i'm fine with it. The minions were awesome just like in the first film i love the little number at the end of the movie.

Overall i give it a 7.7 will for sure be buying this on blu ray it has tons of laughs throughout the movie. Id recommend this to anyone that has little children also it's one of those kids movies that adults can watch without ripping out their eyes


0 comments, Reply to this entry