Explore
 Lists  Reviews  Images  Update feed
Categories
MoviesTV ShowsMusicBooksGamesDVDs/Blu-RayPeopleArt & DesignPlacesWeb TV & PodcastsToys & CollectiblesComic Book SeriesBeautyAnimals   View more categories »
Listal logo
All reviews - Movies (219) - TV Shows (15) - Games (8)

The Burbs review

Posted : 3 years, 4 months ago on 24 May 2014 09:28 (A review of The Burbs)

I'm going to go do something productive. I'm going to go watch Television.


The Burbs i would have is really a underrated movie, i know for the most part a lot of people don't know about it. I actually just ask my friend today if he had seen the movie and he hadn't which is crazy because usually its him telling me about a movie i haven't seen before. I would have to say that this is my favorite non animated Tom Hanks comedy movie, i remember watching this, Saving Private Ryan and Forrest Gump all the time when i was young. Joe Dante definitely proves that he can do a dark comedy, im actually surprised at the films hes done, a lot of sci-fi, comedy, and horror movies some i need to check out.

The film follows Ray Peterson(Tom Hanks) a resident of a quiet cul-de-sac in a suburban neighborhood and while on vacation for a week him and his friends Art(Rick Ducommun) and Mark(Bruce Dern) start to wonder if the new residents the Klopek living next to him are murders when a fellow neighbor goes missing. From here we see Ray turn from a normal guy into a paranoid wreck determined to prove that the are Klopek's killers and when they leave for a day him and the others go over the fence to find their evidence.

Overall i give it a 7.0 The whole cast did a solid job i totally forgot that Carrie Fisher was in the film, Henry Gibson is always a pleasure to watch, and its always great seeing a youthful Corey Feldman.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Kung Fu Panda 2 review

Posted : 3 years, 5 months ago on 23 May 2014 10:51 (A review of Kung Fu Panda 2)

My fist hungers for justice!
[stomach belches]
That was... my fist."


2011 was a year we saw multiple weak animated movies like Rio, Cars 2, Mars Needs Moms, The Smurfs, Rango, and a few others. There were only a few select movies that seem worth watching like The Adventures of Tintin, and Puss in Boots another Dreamworks animated film. It just so happens to be that Kung Fu Panda 2 puts itself into that category, with a more compelling story that has emotional depth Kung Fu Panda 2 sets itself as a worthy sequel to it's predecessor. Seeing that this is the directorial debt of Jennifer Yuh i was quite surprised that the it turned out better then i thought it would have.



After the events that took place in Kung Fu Panda we now find Po a well trained kung fu master eager to show off his fighting skills and its not long before we see Po and the Furious Five back in action. This was actually a great thing about the movie that it starts out with a bang sorta like the first one did but whereas the first one awed you with gorgeous animation full of vibrant colors this one awes you with a seriously awesome fight scene. Just when Po is about the defeat the wolves attacking the small village he gets distracted by the symbol on the wolf leaders armor he has a flash back of him and his mom. This is where the more emotional part of the film takes its role as Po tries to figure out where he really came from but in the process he uncovers the darkness of his pass.



The movies villain is Shen(Gary Oldman) a peacock that was set to rule china but once his parents seen what he would become they locked him away making sure that he could never retake his home only they were wrong and with the help of firepower he sets out to rule all of china. The villain this time around is more compelling and has a bigger role in the film not just there for the sake of having a villain. You can even argue that it was half his film as we got plenty of his story but we soon find out both his and Po's story's intertwine setting you on a emotional ride where friends and family mean everything. The rest of the cast does a superb job like before with Angelina Jolie again as the lead of the side characters were throughout the movie we see that he and Po grow closer relationship with each other.



Some can argue that this movie is better then the first and in a way it is and isn't the first movie has a more comedy lightheartedness feel to it while the second one is a more darker emotional take on the franchise. I will say that im torn between the two of which i like more but if i had to pick id have to choose the first movie. A part that sucked about this movie though is that at no point did the animation blow me away like the celebration scene in the first film but seeing that there wasn't many scenes with a light background and the tone of the film we weren't going to be getting a lot of scenes like that but even at the end with all the fireworks going off it still didn't look all that amazing although will say that the fur on the animals looked great.

Overall i give it a 7.7


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Kung Fu Panda review

Posted : 3 years, 5 months ago on 23 May 2014 07:17 (A review of Kung Fu Panda)

" There is no charge for awesomeness... or attractiveness."


Not since Shrek has Dreamworks Animation been on top of it's game, Kung Fu Panda is a delightful animated comedy that thrives on its gorgeous animation, thrilling fighting sequences, its humorous dialog, and its top notch voice acting. Kung Fu Panda may suffer from its cliched story with the whole "believe in yourself" thing but that does't take about from how heartwarming it still can be. I remember when this first came out and it looking freaking beautiful even to this day that the animation is still something to be amazed about.



The film follows Po(Jack Black) a panda working at his father's noodle shop in the Valley of Peace and only wishes that he can be something more. On this participial day it just so happens to be that the dragon warrior is going to be picked, Po rushes to get into the celebration but is late. Determined to see the Dragon Warrior and the legendary "Furious Five" Tigress(Angelina Jolie), Monkey(Jackie Chan), Mantis(Seth Rogen), Viper(Lucy Liu), and Crane(David Cross) Po sticks fireworks to a chair so he can fly over the wall. He ends up putting too much fireworks on the chair and goes flying the air to only drop right down in the middle of the arena in front of Oogway the valleys spiritual leader just as he is picking the new Dragon Warrior and it ends up being Po.



From here we see master Shifu(Dustin Hoffman) and the Furious Five try to make Po leave by being mean to him and taking it hard on him in training as they do not believe he is or can be the Dragon Warrior. It's not till sometime on till some of the Furious Five start to warm up to Po. All that stops when Tai Lung(Ian McShane) the pupil of master Shifu breaks out of prison to came back and become the Dragon Warrior himself, something he thought he deserved all along. The Furious Five sets out to fight Tai Lung while Po questions if he can really be the true Dragon Warrior. Well after a talk with master Shifu Po and him figure out that food is a great way for him to train. Cue the montage and now Po is a great kung fu fighter and worthy the "Dragon Scroll" a ancient scroll said to give limitless power to that who possesses it. Well Tai Lung beats all of the Furious Five makes his way to the palace where him and master Shifu fight until Po steps in and ends up betting him.



The action scenes were amazing and a thrill to watch, the mix of the slow down/speed up in the fighting was a excellent way to make it still humorous. Jack Black voicing Po Was perfection i do not think they could have picked a better person, the rest of the cast all did solid performances but the way the story plays out Angelina Jolie's character has a bigger role then the rest of the Furious Five. James Hong as Mr. Ping(Po's father) is so awesome, the guy is such a funny actor he plays a goose in the film but they don't address that issue until the second film.

Overall i give it a 8.0


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Trance review

Posted : 3 years, 5 months ago on 22 May 2014 10:28 (A review of Trance)

"Do you want to remember or do you want to forget?"


Coming from Danny Boyle i was expecting a lot then this, Trance tries to be like Inception with the psychological thriller feel but the end result isn't up to par with his previous films. The cast was a big selling point for me as James McAvoy, Rosario Dawson, and Vincent Cassel are all great actors and they all ended up doing solid performances, actually i thought that James McAvoy did a superb job maybe the best iv'e seen of him. Trance story gets messy at times when it comes to the psychological part whereas Inception's keeps a smooth flow throughout.



The film follows Simon (James McAvoy) a fine art auctioneer with a huge gambling problem, he soon becomes in deep in debt with many people and the only way to pay them off is to trade his debt for a very rich painting to a gang leader. On the day of the auction Simon double-crosses the gang resulting in the gang leader Franck (Vincent Cassel) hitting him over the head with a shotgun causing him to have amnesia. From here the psychological feel takes on a heavy role in the film as the gang takes Simon to go see a hypnotist Elizabeth Lamb (Rosario Dawson) She dissects his mind to make him remember where he put the painting. This happens multiple times taking a psychological tole on Simon to a point to where he doesn't know what's real and what's not.



The pace of the film was also something i didn't like the beginning starts out nice then slows down after that the pace only picks it up for short segments then goes back to slowing down. All this was fine but once they got into the car heading for the painting at the end of the film and Elizabeth is explaining to Simon what really went on, in that really long dawn out scene that we all seen coming anyways, it was just a complete bore to me and i couldn't wait for it to be over. The very last sentence in the movie is Elizabeth saying Do you want to remember or do you want to forget? and the first thing that popped up into my head was forget this disappointing movie.

Overall i give it a 6.0 Oh yeah i totally forgot that Rosario Dawson went fully nude in this, I do have to say it was quite nice.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

The Cabin in the Woods review

Posted : 3 years, 5 months ago on 21 May 2014 10:57 (A review of The Cabin in the Woods)

"Statistical fact: Cops will never pull over a man with a huge bong in his car. Why? They fear this man. They know he sees further than they and he will bind them with ancient logics."


You know when i first watched this movie i really wasn't expecting anything from it because well you know horror movie these days are just not that good and its usually every 10 years that we get one that steps it up. Although by the end of the film i was actually surprised by how much i ended up liking it, but seeing that its from Joss Whedon i knew it was going to be something special. With the directorial debut of Drew Goddard the writer for Cloverfield a film that i didn't like, i wasn't sure how this was going to turn out but he ended up doing a decent job, im sure he and Joss Whedon collaborated on things so it would turn out good.



The film follows your group of typical college friends Dana(Kristen Connolly) the sweet innocent girl, Jules(Anna Hutchison) the slutty one, Curt(Chris Hemsworth) the cool jock, Marty(Fran Kranz) the hilarious stoner, and Holden(Jesse Williams) the sensitive guy, taking a trip out to a isolated cabin out in the woods for a weekend of partying. At this point the movie is really cut and dry with your typical horror movie but only that you know something is brewing up, you're just not sure what that is. Soon the Partying stops when the group of friends find themselves being hunted down and killed off but not before figuring out why it happened to them. The film is fast paced, gory, and filled with plenty of dark humor( mostly coming from the pot head) Although the movie my be highly cliched it gives reasons for why it is, like when they stop at the gas station and they confront the old creepy dude, thats is just about every horror movie dealing with going into the middle of nowhere.



The last 15 minutes of the movie is without a doubt the best part of it, you get to wave after wave of monsters killing guards. This part of course had the best scene of the whole movie when you get to see a unicorn kill a man by ramming his horn into him the first time i had seen that i literally fell on the floor it was so funny even though i have watched the movie a couple times now i still chuckle when that part comes up its that great, another great death is the merman killing Bradley Whitford, he wanted to see it so bad but i bet he didn't think it would be the thing to kill him. Sigourney Weaver being in it was a complete surprise to me so its always a pleasure seeing her. She kinda had the same role in this as she did in "Paul" were she is the BIG BOSS overseeing everything and you don't get to see her until the end only teasing her voice.

Overall i give it a 7.5


0 comments, Reply to this entry

The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy review

Posted : 3 years, 5 months ago on 20 May 2014 10:17 (A review of The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy)

So The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy is a excellent piece of sci-fi comedy its a movie of sheer randomness, I have never read the books but i have always loved the movie. I actually just got the book set today and i thought that it has been some years since i last watched the movie so i thought id give it another watch before i sit down a read the books. The movie boasts a great list of actors like Martin Freeman, Sam Rockwell, Mos Def, Zooey Deschanel, Stephen Fry, John Malkovich, Bill Nighy, Alan Rickman, Helen Mirren, so with a cast like that you would think the movie has to be awesome. The movie really has no plot it feels like just a bunch of funny scenes mashed together, there is no glue holding it together to make it flow, Although this somehow seems to work sure it might not for those who cant watch a movie without a plot but i think this is one of the very few films that works without one.

Overall i give it a 7.5 Since i loved this movie i pretty much already know im going to also love the books. Also Alan Rickman the voice of Marvin was pretty much the best part of the whole film his gloomy attitude was a down right hilarious, funny thing that he is the one that saves them in the end.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

How to Train Your Dragon review

Posted : 3 years, 5 months ago on 19 May 2014 10:48 (A review of How to Train Your Dragon)

You know 2010 was a pretty packed year for good animated movies, I mean we had this, Toy Story 3, Tangled, Megamind, Despicable Me, Legend of the Guardians: The Owls of Ga'Hoole. All of them are good movies in their own right but i would have to say that this is my second favorite animated movie to come out that year behind Toy Story 3 of course. Dreamworks Animation has always had some decent movies a few being Antz, Shrek, Kung Fu Panda, Megamind, but it seems that people always put them behind in the race with Pixar. ill honest here and say that this movie is better then the last 3 Pixar films without a doubt. The voice cast is freaking great, the animation was top notch, the action/flight scenes were awesome, and the story does have it's heartfelt moments when needed. The only problem i have with the movie is that the story never really seems to take off, for me it seemed that the writers played it safe but other then that i loved it.

Overall i give it a 8.0 One problem i had when i first watched the film was Jay Baruchel as Hiccup his voice just didn't seem to fit but after a couple of times watching it his voice grew on me. I really can't wait to watch How to Train Your Dragon 2 but i already know it's not going to be as good as this one though, The trailers do make it look as if it will be just as fun filled as the first so count me in for a theater viewing.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Godzilla review

Posted : 3 years, 5 months ago on 14 May 2014 08:52 (A review of Godzilla)

"You're not fooling anybody when you say that what happened was a "natural disaster,". You're lying! It was not an earthquake, it wasn't a typhoon! Because what's really happening is that you're hiding something out there! And it is going to send us back to the Stone Age!"

Well today i got to attend my very first Advance Screening of a movie what was even better is that the movie was Godzilla. I had a choice for either this or X-Men: Days of Future Past and since none of the trailers for the X-men got me excited to watch it and the trailers for this movie on the other hand had me foaming at the mouth for more. Seeing that i have always been a huge fan of Godzilla having watched plenty of his movies when i was younger and now actually having watched the franchise in whole (28 films) last month i thought it would seem right for me to watch the movie on the big monsters 60th birthday. Director Gareth Edwards known for his low budget post apocalyptic sci-fi movie "Monsters" makes his way into the Hollywood blockbuster spot light with this film.



I'm pretty sure most of here remember the horrible 1998 movie that shares the same title as the this and the original and where as that movie failed on everything this movie only falls flat on one aspect. It just so happens to be some of the main characters which take up screen time that are the ones to fall flat. It's not that the acting it bad it's just that it's largely forgettable in the end. Other then that though the movie excels in being, grounded, gritty and dark, with some excellent cinematography that made you feel as if you were in the carnage along everyone else. I personally have it beating out Pacific Rim which is the movie it will be compared to a lot because of how recent it came out and it being of the same genre.



The movie first follows Bryan Cranston's character Joe Brody and his wife Sandra Brody played by Juliette Binoche they are scientists working at the local nuclear power plant in Janjira Japan. The power plant ends up going going in to meltdown causing the death of Brody's wife and which the government tries to cover up with claims that it was just a earthquake. This causes Brody to go into conspiracy mode for the next 15 years trying figure out what really happened that day, he tries to get into his old house that is inside the quarantined zone but he is caught and thrown in jail. This causes Joe's son Ford Brody played by Aaron Taylor-Johnson to fly over to japan to bail him out and bring him back home, Ford now a military bomb disarming specialist with a family, is still angry at his father but thinks he is just going crazy over what happened.



This is where the two main human characters differ for me, i actually liked Cranston's character they gave him purpose and however over the top you think he may get you have to remember that what he is saying is the truth, so him acting over the top is justified. Now for Aaron Taylor-Johnson's character i felt it wasn't his fault that his character isn't that great its just that the writers made him to be so boring and cliched. The rest of the cast Elizabeth Olsen, Ken Watanabe, Sally Hawkins, all did solid performances but like i said before they end up being forgettable in the end.



As for Godzilla he was simply amazing to say the least, standing a massive 350ft in the air he walks among the skyscrapers laying waste to everything with ease. I had actually seen some early concept designs for this Godzilla before i left for the theater and i have to say that they for sure picked the best design to bring the Monster back to life and not that lizard BS that was in the 1998 one. I know critics are not liking the fact that you don't fully see Godzilla until the third act but if they remember the 1954 original also didn't show him until the end the only difference is that movie is like 30 minutes shorter. Despite that though i still really enjoyed this film once all the fighting started happening i forgot about the rest of the film you sit there with awe and amazement feeling like you are a little kid again watching Monsters fight it out on the big screen. Oh i should say that this screening was in IMAX so everything was flipping gorgeous, i haven't seen that many films in IMAX and the last one was The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug and that was six months ago, i'm used to my local crappy theater with crappy video and audio not amazing video and audio.

Overall i give it a 7.5 If Godzilla is able to spring the franchise back to life and we are able to get some sequels i wouldn't mind more Godzilla screen time and also maybe some of his old enemies like King Ghidorah, Destoroyah, Mothra, mecha Mechagodzilla anyone of those would be awesome. Anyways Godzilla is a for sure a must watch for all i don't care if you never cared for the Godzilla movies or even like the genre, the movie is set to entertain all, as soon as the Blu ray is available for Pre-order i'm getting me two copies


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Horrible Bosses review

Posted : 3 years, 5 months ago on 13 May 2014 10:47 (A review of Horrible Bosses)

"Life is a marathon and you cannot win a marathon without putting a few bandaids on your nipples!"

Horrible Bosses has a great concept, great actors, hilarious dialog, and the fact that its a rated R comedy makes it even better. Really though if they had tried the makes this a pg13 movie it would have just been not funny and unwatchable. Seth Gordon has come out with 3 movies now and this one is for sure the best and only one worth watching, his first movie "Four Christmases" was pure unwatchable crap and his most recent movie Identity Thief is also pretty horrible. Im pretty sure you could have thrown any decent director in this and it would have been just as good.

So the movie follows three friends Nick Hendricks(Jason Bateman), Dale Arbus(Charlie Day), and Kurt Buckman(Jason Sudeikis) as they try to figure out a way to kill their bosses that they absolutely hate. Bateman's boss is played by Kevin Spacey and pretty much again Spacey was the best part of the whole movie he plays being a rude dick to perfection. Now we have Sudeikis's boss played by Colin Farrell who is a coked up douche bag that only got the job because his dad died. So this leaves us with Charlie Day's boss who is played by Jennifer Aniston a sex crazed dentist that is always trying to have sex with him. Aniston at this point stopped relying on her acting which was never all the good to begin with for being half naked in almost all her scenes but she was still actually pretty funny, most of though she was flipping SEXY!!!!!!.

The movie has plenty of jokes throughout at no point did i feel the movie slow down yet it does take a little while before we actually get to the part where they want to kill their bosses the scenes that fill that time are showing you just how horrible these bosses can be. The guy that tells them how to kill their bosses is played by Jamie Foxx his role is minor and you see him only like two or three times so he was forgettable the best about him was his name Motherfucker Jones.

Overall i give it a 7.5 im hopping Horrible Bosses two will be just as funny also i didnt know John Francis Daley wrote the script for this that guy is just awesome.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Dredd review

Posted : 3 years, 5 months ago on 12 May 2014 08:00 (A review of Dredd)

Dredd is a gritty action packed thrill ride with plenty of blood, gun fights, and dark humor for you to forget all about the 1995 Judge Dredd movie staring Sylvester Stallone. After giving this movie another watch it makes me wish that the new RoboCop movie had turned out more like this then maybe it could have been worth the watch. The setting of warn down, crime filled mega cities stretching across states gives you more of a sense of how bad things are in the future. The story follows two Judge's responding to a triple murder in a heavily crime populated area soon they find themselves fighting to stay alive against the local gang MA-MA and there leader Ma-Ma (Lena Headey) as they fight there way up 200 flights of stairs. Karl Urban as Judge Dredd was perfect i couldn't have ask for a better Judge Dredd, i have always been a fan of Karl Urban he can be a total badass like he is in this film but he can also be funny like he is in star trek. The humor in this is for sure dark but funny but nonetheless i chuckled a couple times because of Urban's dialog. The action scenes are totally awesome the movie starts out with a car chase and it doesn't let down from there with tons of shoot outs causing loads of bloody deaths. The drug in the movie that the MA-MA gang is making causes people to perceive time super slow so it looks like everything is in Slow-Mo when they take it and for that aspect alone you have to give credit to the moive for at least giving you a reason on why its being shown rather then just having it as a gimmick like in most movies nowadays. Even though i had only seen a couple of movies that Olivia Thirlby has been in i didn't really know who she was but she surprised me with holding her own that i ended up liking her a lot i figured her role would have only slowed down the film but i was wrong. The only problem i have with her is that she was able to read peoples minds and they never really get into how she was able to do it. The plot is simple but it doesn't take away with how awesome the movie is as a action movie this is the best i have watched in some years.

Overall i give it a 8.0 Blu ray makes the slow-mo scenes looks AMAZING! I really hope they make a second movie because if any remake deserves it i would say its this film.


0 comments, Reply to this entry



Insert image

drop image here
(or click)
or enter URL:
 link image?  square?

Insert video

Format block